Transformational Breath Facilitator Training Review (2026)

A review of Transformational Breath facilitator certification by Judith Kravitz. We cover the $5,447 published tuition, the 500-hour path, what the evidence shows, and who it suits.

At a glance A long-established, transparently priced path into one-to-one conscious breathing work, with a metaphysical core and thin evidence
Cost ~$5,450 tuition (three courses)
Duration 500 hours, ~1 year
Format Online, in-person, or hybrid
Scientific backing
Spiritual depth
Performance focus
Therapeutic application
Career opportunity
Brand recognition

Transformational Breath is one of the oldest branded breathwork methods still training facilitators. Judith Kravitz began developing it in the mid-1970s after, by her own account, turning to breathwork while dealing with a throat tumor. She founded the Transformational Breath Foundation in 1994, and the foundation says the method is now taught in 56 countries and 12 languages. Kravitz holds a doctorate in metaphysics and is an ordained minister, and that background matters for understanding what you are signing up for.

This is not to be confused with “transformational breathwork” as a general category, which we cover in our transformational breathwork certification guide. Transformational Breath, with the registered trademark, is one specific school with its own session format, its own certification ladder, and its own rules about what graduates may teach.

Our view in short: the certification path is unusually transparent on price and unusually demanding on practice, which puts it ahead of many younger schools. What holds it back is a science story that does not match its own evidence, a metaphysical layer that is built into the certification requirements rather than offered as an option, and a credential that, on its own, only certifies you for one-to-one sessions.

How a Transformational Breath Session Works

A session runs about an hour. The client lies on a mat, the facilitator observes their normal breathing (the school calls this Breathing Analysis), and then the client breathes in a connected pattern, with no break between inhale and exhale, for an extended active phase set to music. During that phase the facilitator uses what the school calls Bodymapping (a hands-on technique the school describes as identifying and releasing tension in the body), along with affirmations, toning, and movement. An integration phase and a sharing round close the session.

The school’s marketing leans on the language of “full diaphragmatic breathing” and the parasympathetic nervous system. The only peer-reviewed study we found on the method describes it differently. In a 2025 paper in PLOS Mental Health, the authors classify Transformational Breath as a high ventilation breathwork practice, note that it keeps the inhale at roughly twice the length of the exhale, and say it likely promotes sympathetic (arousal) activity during the practice. A typical session, they write, includes around 45 minutes of high ventilation breathing.

That is not a criticism of the method. Connected, fast breathing is the shared mechanism behind Holotropic, Rebirthing, and most conscious connected breathwork, and arousal is part of how it works. But a facilitator should understand that they are running a sustained hyperventilation practice with the effects that come with it (tingling, hand cramping, lightheadedness, strong emotion), not a calming diaphragmatic exercise. The school’s own marketing blurs that line.

The Certification Path

The foundation lays out a four-step path to becoming a Certified Transformational Breath Facilitator.

Step 1, the Essentials Course (Levels 1 to 3). A six-day in-person seminar, or the six-week online version called On The Wings of Breath, with pre-recorded lessons and weekly live sessions. It is focused on your own practice and self-facilitation, not on working with clients. To count the online version toward certification you must watch all the video lessons and attend at least 80% of the live sessions.

Step 2, Facilitator Foundations (Level 4A). Seven days in person, or seven weeks online with weekly live Zoom classes of three to four hours. This is where you learn one-to-one facilitation: breathing analysis, Bodymapping, session structure, and professional boundaries. Completing it makes you a Facilitator Intern, allowed to give practice sessions under a mentor’s supervision.

Step 3, Advanced Facilitator (Level 4B). Another seven days in person or seven weeks online. It adds what the school calls Transformational Coaching, more complex client situations, and work with specific client populations such as pregnant women, children, and older clients.

Step 4, completing certification. After 4B you have one year to finish the remaining requirements. The foundation says the full path adds up to 500 hours.

The requirements list is long and specific, and most of it is practice:

  • Red Cross First Aid and CPR certification
  • 40 documented one-to-one sessions, plus two case studies of five sessions each
  • A written exam in 4B and an observed practical exam with a client
  • Eight consecutive weekly self-sessions and a breathing journal
  • Staffing two Essentials courses and one 4A or 4B course as an intern
  • A required reading list
  • A 40-Day Prosperity Program and a 40-Day Miracle Consciousness Program
  • A final review that includes skills in “practicing miracle consciousness”
  • Signing the Training Program Structure document, the Ethical Policies, and a Non-Disclosure Agreement

The 40 documented sessions, two case studies, mentor sign-off, and observed exam are a real strength. Many online certifications in this price range ask for a handful of practice sessions, or none. Here you graduate having facilitated dozens of people under supervision.

The prosperity and miracle consciousness programs are another matter. They are not electives. They sit in the requirements list next to CPR and the practical exam, and “practicing miracle consciousness” is one of the skills you are assessed on. If that framework resonates with you, it will feel like part of the work. If you came for a breathing method and wanted to keep your own beliefs out of your certification, it is worth knowing before you pay for Level 1.

The NDA is also worth asking about. The foundation does not publish what it covers, so we cannot tell you. Ask for a copy before you enroll.

What Certification Lets You Do

The Certified Facilitator credential covers one-to-one sessions. Leading groups is a separate step, the Group Facilitation and Leadership Training (Level 5), which the foundation describes as the certification “to facilitate breathwork groups and lead community events or workshops.” Teaching the method’s own introductory events requires a further Trainer Apprenticeship, and teaching the Essentials course requires a Senior Trainer Apprenticeship.

That ladder is coherent, but it changes the math. If your plan is group classes, workshops, or corporate sessions, which is how many facilitators make breathwork pay (see our breathwork facilitator salary breakdown), you need Level 5 as well, which adds another $2,500.

Transformational Breath Cost

This is where the school stands out. Most of its tuition is published on its own site, which is more than many competitors offer.

Course Published tuition Format
Essentials (Levels 1-3), in person $1,500 6 days
Essentials online (On The Wings of Breath) $1,497 6 weeks
Facilitator Foundations (4A) $1,975 7 days in person or 7 weeks online
Advanced Facilitator (4B) $1,975 7 days in person or 7 weeks online
Group Facilitation and Leadership (Level 5) $2,500 7 days

The three courses required for one-to-one certification come to $5,447 online or $5,450 in person, roughly £4,100 or €4,700. Adding Level 5 for group work brings the total to about $7,950.

The published rates are not fixed everywhere. The foundation says prices can vary by venue (some events follow the host center’s pricing), by regional economy, and by trainer, and that courses led by Judith Kravitz herself “typically command a 20% or higher tuition.” Discounts exist for early payment, couples, seniors, and booking Level 4 during your seminar week (10% off). The online courses offer six-month payment plans, which cost more in total: $362 a month for 4A or 4B comes to $2,172, about 10% above the upfront price.

Several costs are not published, and we could not establish them:

  • Renewal. The 4A course page mentions alumni returning “to renew your certification,” but we found no published renewal fee, renewal interval, or membership fee. Ask before you enroll.
  • Internship costs. You must staff three courses as an intern. Whether that is unpaid volunteer work, whether you pay to attend, and who covers travel is not stated.
  • Mentoring. The path requires a mentor’s sign-off. Whether mentoring is included in tuition or charged separately is not stated.
  • Refunds. For events Kravitz leads, cancelled tuition is held as credit for 12 months, not refunded. Events led by other trainers follow that trainer’s own terms.

For context across the market, see our breathwork training cost breakdown.

Accreditation

The foundation says it is an accredited school recognized by the Global Professional Breathwork Alliance (GPBA) and a member of the International Breathwork Foundation (IBF). Transformational Breath appears in the GPBA’s directory of certified schools. The GPBA sets minimum standards for its certified schools, including at least 400 training hours over two years, which the 500-hour path clears.

GPBA recognition is a meaningful signal inside the breathwork field. It is still a voluntary professional association, not a government license or clinical qualification, and it will not let you present yourself as a therapist.

The Evidence

The foundation’s FAQ says the method stands apart because of its “scientifically-based approach.” Its research page lists studies on diaphragmatic breathing, slow breathing, cyclic sighing, and lymphatic flow. None of those studies tested Transformational Breath.

The one study we found that did is the 2025 PLOS Mental Health pilot mentioned above. It randomized 24 singers with mild to moderate social anxiety into a group that received three Transformational Breath sessions and a waitlist group. The result was mixed: anxiety scores dropped within the breathing group, but there was no significant difference between the breathing group and the control group on any physiological or psychological measure. The authors conclude the method “may be effective in acutely decreasing music performance anxiety,” which is a careful way of saying the study was too small to show more. The paper also declares that its first author is a certified Transformational Breath facilitator and trainer.

So the evidence for this specific method is one small pilot study with a declared conflict of interest and no between-group effect. The evidence for diaphragmatic and slow breathing in general is much stronger, but that is not the practice Transformational Breath sessions are built on. The broader research on high ventilation breathwork, which is what the study says this is, is promising but early.

Community Feedback

For a school that has trained people for decades in more than 50 countries, there is very little independent discussion of the facilitator training. We found no substantial Reddit threads, forum discussions, or third-party reviews of the certification itself, positive or negative. Most of what exists online is the foundation’s own testimonials and listings from its facilitators.

The little independent commentary we did find was one former trainee who wrote that they stopped short of becoming a facilitator because they were not convinced of the support and ethics at the time. One account is not a pattern, and we are not treating it as one. The absence of independent feedback is the finding: you will have to do your own vetting, ideally by speaking to two or three certified facilitators from the directory who are not involved in selling you the course.

Pros and Cons

What works well

  • Published tuition - Every core course price is on the website, which lets you compare without a sales call.
  • Real supervised practice - 40 documented sessions, two case studies, an observed exam, and a mentor sign-off is more practice than most certifications at this price ask for.
  • Flexible format - Each level can be taken online, in person, or as a hybrid, and the online courses are recorded.
  • Longevity and reach - Around 50 years of history, a presence in 56 countries, and GPBA certified-school status.

What doesn't

  • Science claims outrun the evidence - The school calls itself scientifically based, but the one study on the method found no difference from a control group.
  • Metaphysics is mandatory - Prosperity and miracle consciousness programs are certification requirements, not electives.
  • One-to-one only at first - Group work requires Level 5, another $2,500.
  • Unpublished terms - Renewal fees, internship costs, mentoring costs, and the contents of the required NDA are not public.

Transformational Breath Market Comparisons

Transformational Breath vs. Holotropic Breathwork

Both come out of the 1970s wave of connected breathing, and both put long, intense breathing sessions at the center. Holotropic is entirely in person, takes two to three years, and costs $7,000 or more in tuition before travel. Transformational Breath can be completed online in about a year for around $5,450. Holotropic is built around group workshops with music and a sitter model, while Transformational Breath is built around hands-on one-to-one sessions. Choose Holotropic if you want the deepest group-process training and can commit years and travel. Choose Transformational Breath if you want to work one-to-one and need an online or hybrid path.

Transformational Breath vs. Alchemy of Breath

Alchemy of Breath costs $5,800 to $6,900 and centers on conscious connected breathing, shadow work, and facilitation practice, with residential training in Tuscany at the heart of its program. Tuition lands in a similar range, but Alchemy’s travel and accommodation typically add $1,000 to $3,000, while Transformational Breath can be completed entirely from home. Both carry a spiritual frame: Alchemy’s is shadow work, Transformational Breath’s is affirmations and metaphysics. Choose Alchemy if group immersion and shadow work are what draw you. Choose Transformational Breath if you want to specialize in hands-on one-to-one sessions and avoid travel costs.

Transformational Breath vs. PAUSE Breathwork

PAUSE is a six-month online certification at $4,000 to $6,000, framed around trauma-informed practice rather than metaphysics. Total cost is similar. PAUSE uses more modern, secular language and is built around its founder’s brand, while Transformational Breath has decades more history and spells out a demanding practice requirement (40 documented sessions plus case studies) on its website. Choose PAUSE if you want trauma-informed framing without a spiritual curriculum. Choose Transformational Breath if you value lineage and a clearly defined supervised-practice load and are comfortable with the metaphysical side.

Who This Is For

  • One-to-one practitioners - You want to offer hands-on individual breath sessions, not run large groups.
  • Spiritually oriented students - Affirmations, prosperity work, and miracle consciousness feel aligned with how you want to work.
  • People who want supervision - You want to graduate with dozens of mentored sessions behind you, not just a certificate.

Who Should Pass

  • Evidence-first professionals - If you need a method with solid research behind it, look at functional breathing certifications instead.
  • Secular practitioners - If you do not want metaphysical programs as part of your certification, this path makes them mandatory.
  • Group and corporate facilitators - The core certificate does not cover groups, so budget for Level 5 or choose a program that includes group work.

Transformational Breath Verdict

Transformational Breath gets two important things right that many newer schools do not: it publishes its prices, and it makes you practice a lot before it certifies you. Forty documented sessions with a mentor and an observed exam is a serious bar, and the online path makes it reachable for people who cannot travel. GPBA certified-school status and five decades of history back that up.

What we cannot get past is the gap between how the school describes itself and what it is. It markets a calm, diaphragmatic, “scientifically based” method, while the only independent-journal study of it describes a high ventilation practice and found no difference from a control group. And the certification asks you to complete prosperity and miracle consciousness programs, which makes it a spiritual training with a breathing method inside, not the other way round. Neither of those is a dealbreaker. Both are things you should know before you pay.

Bottom line: A credible, well-structured choice for spiritually minded practitioners who want to work one-to-one and want real supervised practice, at a fair and transparent price. A poor fit if you want evidence-based framing, a secular curriculum, or a credential that covers group work out of the box.

Before you commit, ask the foundation in writing about renewal fees, internship and mentoring costs, and the contents of the NDA. If you are weighing it against other spiritual paths, our transformational breathwork certification guide compares them side by side.

Still deciding? Take our 2-minute quiz to find the certification that fits your goals and budget.